Patents, Trade Marks & Copyright Banner

Namibia Trade Marks & Patents

Namibia Trade Mark filings according to the Nice Classification of Goods and Services

Namibia is a member of the Madrid Protocol treaty which offers international trade mark filing, registration and maintenance. A single application in Namibia can be applied to multiple jurisdictions so long as those countries are members of the Madrid Protocol. Namibia is also a member of the Paris Convention where each contracting state must grant the same IP protection to nationals of other contracting states. The Paris Convention provides for the right of priority in the case of patents, trade marks and designs.

Namibia Trade Marks

Smit & Van Wyk IP attorneys and Africa agents deal exclusively with trade mark law in most African countries, including Namibia trade marks. Our fields of practice encompass all aspects relating to trade mark applications, renewals and protection. Our services includes trade mark searches, prosecution, maintenance and enforcement, but more specifically:

(1) Providing advice on the registrability, selection, use and retention of trade marks;
(2) Preparing and prosecuting trade mark applications;
(3) Helping clients license or franchise their rights;
(4) Handling of trade mark maintenance including payment of renewal fees and recording amendments.

Namibia Patents & Designs

The patent attorneys at Smit & Van Wyk deal exclusively with patent law including all aspects related to filing patents, PCT national phase applications and industrial designs in most African countries, including Namibia. Our dedicated team of patent attorneys include engineers and scientists. We provide a wide range of patent-related services across multiple industries and fields of technologies, including patent drafting, filing, prosecution:

(1) We prepare and prosecute patent and design applications;
(2) Advise on the patentability of inventions;
(3) Help clients license, franchise or assign their rights;
(4) Conduct patent searches;
(5) Handle the payment of maintenance fees;
(6) Record amendments to a patent and translate patent specifications into local Languages to maintain the clients rights.


Namibia is a member of ARIPO which means that patents, designs or trademarks may be registered with the official intellectual property office of Namibia or with ARIPO which requires the applicant to choose the specific member states where protection is required. Intellectual property applications to be delivered or mailed to the ARIPO Office in Harare, Zimbabwe, or via the Industrial Property Office of Namibia.

ARIPO Patents
Botswana · Eswatini (formerly Swaziland) · Gambia · Ghana · Kenya · Lesotho · Liberia · Malawi · Mozambique · Namibia · Rwanda · Sào Tomé and Príncipe · Sierra Leone · Sudan · Tanzania · Uganda · Zambia · Zimbabwe.

ARIPO Trademarks
Botswana · Lesotho · Liberia · Malawi · Namibia · Sierra Leone · Sudan · Swaziland · Tanzania · Uganda · Zambia · Zimbabwe.


Filing Requirements for ARIPO Trade Mark Applications

Power of Attorney
Scanned copy of simply signed Power of Attorney. (no notarization or legalization required)

Details of the trade mark(s)
Word mark or logo. If the trade mark is a logo, please send electronically. Details of colours claimed, if applicable.

Classes and list of goods and/or services
(try to limit to 5 items per application, additional charges apply for each additional item over 5)

Details of the applicant:
Full name. Nationality / country of incorporation. Physical address.

The official search is done by ARIPO and takes about 2 to 3 weeks. The usual timeframe from filing to registration is 24 to 36 months. After filing, when all filing requirements are complete, ARIPO will transmit the application to the designated countries(s) which must indicate acceptance or refusal of the application within 1 year from the transmission of the application.

Accepted applications will be published for a 3 months opposition period. A trademark registration is valid for 10 years from the date of application and renewable every 10 years.

ARIPO Patent Filings

Patent and PCT National Phase filings for ARIPO (African Regional Intellectual Property Organization). ARIPO is an intergovernmental organisation for English-speaking African countries which implements common administrative procedures from a uniform system for the protection of intellectual property. 

The relevant protocol for ARIPO patents is the Harare Protocol, which 18 States have acceded to:

Botswana, Eswatini (formerly Swaziland), Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Sào Tomé and Príncipe, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

ARIPO requires the applicant to choose the specific member states where protection is required.

Harare Protocol Members


(Southern Africa)