The Friday the 13th Franchise

Intellectual Property
Home / IP Insights / The Friday the 13th Franchise

Friday the 13th History
Several theories exist about the origin of the superstition. The earliest known documented reference to Friday the 13th occurs in Henry Sutherland Edwards’ 1869 biography of Gioachino Rossini, who died on a Friday 13th. It is a modern amalgamation of superstitions, that 13 is an unlucky number and that Friday is an unlucky day. According to research, millions of people are affected by the fear of Friday the 13th. The fear of Friday the 13th has been called friggatriskaidekaphobia. Friday the 13th can occur as many as 3 times in a year in February, March and November or January, April and July in leap years. Tupac Shakur, Tony Roper, Julia Child, Tim Russert and Edwin Newman died on a Friday the 13th.

The Franchise
Friday the 13th is an American horror film franchise. Paramount Pictures purchased the full licensing rights to Friday the 13th which is considered one of the most successful media franchises in America. The franchise focuses on the fictional character Jason Voorhees who was a boy who drowned at Camp Crystal Lake because two staff members who were supposed to be watching him were having sex. The lake was then rumored to be cursed after a series of mass murders. The original Friday the 13th film was written by Victor Miller who never returned to write any of the sequels. The franchise have grossed over $465 million at the box-office worldwide and is the highest grossing horror franchise in the world. In 2006 IGN ranked Friday the 13th in the top 25 film franchises.

1980 – Friday the 13th
1981 – Friday the 13th Part 2
1982 – Friday the 13th Part III
1984 – Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter
1985 – Friday the 13th: A New Beginning
1986 – Friday the 13th Part VI: Jason Lives
1988 – Friday the 13th Part VII: The New Blood
1989 – Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan
1993 – Jason Goes to Hell: The Final Friday
2002 – Jason X
2003 – Freddy vs. Jason
2009 – Friday the 13th

The franchise also comprises less popular novels, comic books, slasher films, and a television show. Six of the 12 films have been adapted into novels and the first comic book release was the 1993 Topps Comics adaptation of Jason Goes to Hell, written by Andy Mangels.